Special Programs and Events

The Book Club has room for more members!

If you enjoy book discussions with others who love reading, come and join us on the second Monday of the month (unless otherwise specified) at the Holland Landing branch from 7 – 9 pm. The discussion is facilitated by Barry Dempster. Call the Library to register, or drop in. Upcoming titles and discussion dates are announced here.

Upcoming Meeting – Midwinter Break – December 9th, 2019

 

 

By Bernard MacLaverty

A retired couple, Gerry and Stella Gilmore, fly from their home in Scotland to Amsterdam for a long weekend – a holiday to refresh the senses, to do some sightseeing, and generally to take stock of what remains in their lives. Their relationship seems save, easy, familiar. But over the course of four days we discover the deep uncertainties that exist between them.

 

 

 

Monday, January 14, 2019Washington Black - Esi Edugyan
Tuesday, February 12, 2019A Season Among Psychics - Elizabeth Greene (Cancelled due to weather, moved to March)
Monday, March 11, 2019Tread and other Stories - Barry Dempster
and
A Season Among Psychics - Elizabeth Greene
Monday, April 8, 2019Bellevue Square - Michael Redhill
Monday, May 13, 2019There There - Tommy Orange
Monday, June 10, 2019The Perfect Nanny - Leila Slimani
Monday, July 8, 2019Heroes of the Frontier - Dave Eggars
Monday, August 12, 2019The Largesse of the Sea Maiden - Denis Johnson
Monday, September 9, 2019Glover's Mistake - Nick Laird
Tuesday, October 15, 2019Every Moment We Are Still Alive - Tom Malmquest
Monday, November 11, 2019Miss Jane - Brad Watson
Monday, December 9, 2019Midwinter Break - Bernard MacLaverty
Monday, January 13, 2020On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous - Ocean Vuong
Monday, February 10, 2020The Innocents - Michael Crummie
Monday, March 9, 2020The Dutch House - Ann Patchett
Tuesday, April 14, 2020Five Wives - Joan Thomas


January, 2015Lila - Marilynne Robinson
February, 2015The Goldfinch - Donna Tartt
March, 2015All the Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr
April, 2015Nora Webster - Com Toibin
May, 2015The Narrow Road to the Deep North - Richard Flanagan
June, 2015Arctic Summer - Damon Galgut
July, 2015The Circle - Dave Eggers
August, 2015I Refuse - Per Petterson
September, 2015The Opening Sky - Joan Thomas
October, 2015Stone Mattress - Margaret Atwood
November, 2015Someone - Alice McDermott
December, 2015My Brilliant Friend - Elena Ferrante
January, 2016Purity - Jonathan Franzen
February, 2016Fates and Furies - Lauren Groff
March, 2016Fifteen Dogs - Andre Alexis
April, 2016Harriet Wolf's Seventh Book of Wonders - Julianne Baggott
May, 2016Did You Ever Have a Family? - Bill Clegg
June, 2016If I Fall, If I Die - Michael Christie
July, 2016Thirteen Days of Looking - Colum McCann
August, 2016The Noise of Time - Julian Barnes
September, 2016A Little Life - Hanya Yanagihara
October, 2016Night Quest - Fiona McFarlane
November, 2016Imagine Me Gone - Adam Haslett
December, 2016A Country Road, a Tree - Jo Baker
January, 2017Nutshell - Ian McEwan
February, 2017Do Not Say We Have Nothing - Madeleine Thien
March, 2017Commonwealth - Ann Patchett
April, 2017A Permanent Member of the Family - Russell Banks
May, 2017Sympathizer - Viet Thanh Nguyen
June, 2017Doubter's Almanac - Ethan Canin
July, 2017Mister Monkey - Francine Prose
August, 2017Books for Living - Will Schwalbe
September, 2017Lincoln and the Bardo - George Saunders
October, 2017Behold the Dreamers - Imbolo Mbue
November, 2017The Naturalist - Alissa York
December, 2017Winter - Christopher Nicholson
Monday, January 8, 2018Less - Andrew Sean Greer
Monday, February 12, 2018The Burning Girl - Claire Massud
Monday, March 12, 2018Manhattan Beach - Jennifer Egan
Monday, April 9, 2018News of the World - Paulette Jiles
Monday May 13, 2018Sweet Lamb of Heaven - Lydia Millet
Monday June 11, 2018Henderson the Rain King - Saul Bellow
Monday July 9, 2018Sing, Unburied, Sing - Jesmyn Ward
Monday August 13, 2018Get in Trouble - Kelly Link
Monday September 10, 2018Varina - Charles Frazier
Monday, October 22, 2018Calypso - David Sedaris
Monday, November 12, 2018Florida - Lauren Groff
Monday, November 12, 2018Florida - Lauren Groff
Monday, December 10, 2018Women Talking - Miriam Toews


 

Special Programs and Events